No more gasoline…in my lawnmower

I was told when I moved to Sussex County that if you don’t mow your lawn “people will think your subversive. ”

I kinda like that.  If my front yard meadow, keeps you guessing, then so be it.

Before cutting my front lawn, in spring, I forage onion greens, garlic mustard and dandelion to make at least one batch of wild pesto. That ought to get the neighbors talking…

I have added some meadow zones, where I don’t cut the lawn on the side of the house and backyard.  To be neighborly, I still cut the front lawn with my new electric mover.  I love that I don’t have to buy gasoline, change oil, filters or nearly rip my arm of my socket when I try to start the gas mower.

I will save money over time according to this chart from Mowers Direct:

Gas-Electric Cost Chart

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got mine from Lowe’s in Newton for under $200.  Home Depot didn’t have any electric mowers in  stock. Sears had one but it was very pricey.  Self propelled and cordless models go for a bit more.

There is movement to get away from gas mowers. Some towns are offering rebates when you switch from gas to electric powered mowers.  Electric works great for a not huge lawn and it is much quieter.

I’m not off the grid, with this choice, but at least I’m a little closer.  I hope trends in lawn meadows, raised beds, front yard orchards and other uses for boring old lawns continue to grow.   And if do still need a lawn mower in the future, I hope my next one is solar powered !

 

About Kath Galvin Cameron

Kath is a freelance writer, community organizer, photographer and blogger. She has been involved in writing, promoting and community outreach. She has produced many musical, cultural, artistic and green events in North West New Jersey for over 15 years. She is the founder of Northwest New Jersey Homeschoolers, and has been involved with supporting natural learning at all stages of life.

Posted on June 30, 2014, in North West New Jersey. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on No more gasoline…in my lawnmower.

Comments are closed.