Movement Begets Groovement, a little at a time

Hooping @ HomeAfter a long period of being stuck and kinda scared, I am coming out of my funk.  Or maybe I should say I’m getting into my funk and Franti ~ through movement.

During our brutal winter, the couch became my little desert island of safety and warmth.  I knew joining  a gym because I “should” was not going to work to get me moving, so I began to make just the tiniest of movements to get back in the groove.

Inspired by Nia’s Five Stages, I started this practice of very basic moves each morning: stretching, creeping, crawling, squatting and up to standing and walking.   The movements were small and slow to start.  I creeped and crawled out of my way. Then onto swaying, stretching, shifting feet, swinging arms, gentle rebounding and dancing.    The more I moved, the more I wanted to move.

Amazingly a flow movement space recently opened in little old Sussex Boro, NJ.  They offer hooping and many movement classes.  One teacher hosts a monthly ecstatic dance class at the new Whirled Revolution .  The beauty of this Gabrielle Roth inspired practice is the full spectrum of movement to stillness is all good.  I am still shy in my dance and movement.  There is a level of freedom in free dance that can be a bit overwhelming.  Each month I move a little deeper inward and outward.

I am thankful Whirled Revolution has created a safe space to try on different types of movement for every body.  I have dabbled in their tai chi and hooping classes and I am feeling drawn to try more movement adventures.

I am so glad that rather then dive into a gym membership, I let my movement or groovement practice unfold.  As I continue my practice of tiny movements into larger ones, I am feeling better and life is starting to flow with more ease too.

 

 

 

 

About Kath Galvin Cameron

Kath is a freelance writer, community organizer, photographer and blogger. She has been involved in writing, promoting and community outreach. She has produced many musical, cultural, artistic and green events in North West New Jersey for over 15 years. She is the founder of Northwest New Jersey Homeschoolers, and has been involved with supporting natural learning at all stages of life.

Posted on June 16, 2014, in Move, North West New Jersey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Movement Begets Groovement, a little at a time.

Comments are closed.